Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Reefkeeper help

  1. #1
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like

    Reefkeeper help

    Just upgraded from RKL to RKE my problem Is temp through the slx module it's working backwards I put probe in warm water the temp goes down put it on cold the temp goes up
    I've tried a new probe same issue, multiple resets to factory setting and recalibrations. Still backwards can't find anything on this problem on the digital aquatics sight. Hoping someone here has some insight into this problem.

    Untill I get it figured out the RKL is running my temperature controls everything else is working fine on the RKE

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SCMAS President

    hooked's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO.
    Posts
    7,216
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are you using the correct probe? RKL probes won't work on a RKE.
    Doyle

    "It's better to be silent and thought the fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."



    90g sps Reef, DIY LED Lighting.
    180g Reef - rebirth started Jan 2013
    260g Coral Propagation System.


    Go dtí go bhfilleann sé abhaile!

  3. Thanks Hydroid thanked you for this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by hooked View Post
    Are you using the correct probe? RKL probes won't work on a RKE.
    Yes I'm using the correct probe with a little Molex connector on the slx module not the itemp probe. the RKL probe is still on the RKL running my heater because this one's not working right.

    I actually have 2 probe both do the same thing one is brand new in thinking it has something to do with the SLX module

  5. #4
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Looks like it's the SLX module at fault . I connected a SL1 module to system and both temp probes work correctly. Just need to figure out how to fix the SLX module....

  6. #5
    Senior Member maxthedog2000's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Pueblo, Durango, and Mancos Colorado
    Posts
    295
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have reversed the polarity before using the molex connectors, see if you change what side it's connected to if it fixes the issue. Your SL1 may be auto correcting somehow

    Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

  7. Thanks Hydroid thanked you for this post
  8. #6
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by maxthedog2000 View Post
    I have reversed the polarity before using the molex connectors, see if you change what side it's connected to if it fixes the issue. Your SL1 may be auto correcting somehow

    Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
    I did try swapping the polarity on the older probe but not the new one it didn't help. Thanks for the suggestion though

  9. #7
    Senior Member maxthedog2000's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Pueblo, Durango, and Mancos Colorado
    Posts
    295
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Hydroid View Post
    I did try swapping the polarity on the older probe but not the new one it didn't help. Thanks for the suggestion though
    It was worth a try


    Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

  10. #8
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yup thanks all suggestions are appreciated. I have and email into digital aquatics about it we'll see what comes of it.

  11. #9
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,672
    Post Thanks / Like
    Have you upgraded the firmware of the slx?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  12. Thanks Hydroid thanked you for this post
  13. #10
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by charleshardy5 View Post
    Have you upgraded the firmware of the slx?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Yup all modules are the newest firmware I even tried redoing the one for the slx and reset to factory defaults to no help.

  14. #11
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,672
    Post Thanks / Like
    Using DA supplied rj12 cables to link your units?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  15. #12
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes sir the sl1 is in the same spot with the same cables plug in and it works fine and it's only the temp that's messed up the two ph ports work perfectly

  16. #13
    Senior Member Hydroid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Calhan
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thought I'd share the outcome of this problem for anyone that might have this issue down the line.
    Customer service was very helpful. I had to perform an intentional update failure. By unplugging the sid cable from module mid update this would cause the system to issue the module a new serial number after selecting what the module was from a drop down menu. Apparently this would cause it to write a whole new calibration table from scratch. Worked perfectly module works as it should now

    Thanks to all who tried to help me

  17. Thanks hooked thanked you for this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •