Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Moving Biocube

  1. #1
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like

    Moving Biocube

    Okay. So my daughter wants a tank in her room but has 0 patience. I'm thinking about moving the biocube I have running and putting it in her room. I've never moved an established tank. Can this be done without losing any Fish? Thoughts? Help?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    2,822
    Post Thanks / Like
    Want to buy a 24 Gallon used one for her?

    If not, you can do it without losing fish. I've moved several with no loss. Does it have much sand in it?
    Don't look here for a comment.

  3. #3
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like
    It has some sand. If I didn't have so many tanks I would look at buying it from you

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,670
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just drain the tank down super low before the move, try to disturb as little as possible, keep plenty of water on hand to do a big water change if you test high for ammonia or nitrates after you refill the tank

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  5. #5
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by charleshardy5 View Post
    Just drain the tank down super low before the move, try to disturb as little as possible, keep plenty of water on hand to do a big water change if you test high for ammonia or nitrates after you refill the tank

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Test for ammonia and nitrates? I don't think I own those tests. Maybe I should buy some. What's a good brand?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,670
    Post Thanks / Like
    Lol I always just used API

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  7. #7
    Senior Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    2,822
    Post Thanks / Like
    You can take a water sample to Petco and they will test it for you for free.

    I've done as Charles recommends. I also add some drops of prime, and some nitrifying bacteria to the tank when it add water back in. Have carbon going.

    If you take a couple of days to clean the sand before the move, you can eliminate some issues: If you can vacuum the sand as a water change and do a small section each day, or stir the sand up in a section, then do a water change and run a filter, then do the same for a few days in a row, you can remove a lot of what would be stirred up and cause a problem when you move it.
    Don't look here for a comment.

  8. Likes charleshardy5 liked this post
  9. #8
    New User

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    I did it for me floors in the living room I just bought the moving circle sliders at home depot and slid it all the way to my room I'm gonna do the same to put it back I took about 60 % water out and almost all water from sump out

    Sent from my SM-N930T using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •