Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: My QT experience

  1. #1
    Registered User Just_Tim's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like

    My QT experience

    It sucks. I've setup a qt numerous times and had about an 80% mortality rate. When I introduce directly into my display I get about a 20% mortality. I know the benefits of running a quarantine but simply wasting money has been discouraging.

    My qt habbit:
    Start tank and cycle
    Buy fish, add to qt
    Feed every other day with subsequent water change
    QT filtered with a hob and air stone
    Repeat until all fish are dead

    ??????????????????????????

    Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    2,819
    Post Thanks / Like
    I killed every fish in my tank once. Moved them into a qt tank to treat ich. Was almost through the qt period and somebody watching my house turned off the light switch that controlled the outlet for the tank. My personal version is try not to add fish often, and not qt.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Don't look here for a comment.

  3. #3
    Registered User Just_Tim's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think im gonna go back to no qt. Out of 7 fish (hippo, pipe fish and 5 chromis) I have 4 chromis left. The remaining stared going downhill so I hastily moved them to the DT. They're doing fine now.

    Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk

  4. Likes Joe liked this post
  5. #4
    Senior Member 719bloodhound's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Calirado Springs
    Posts
    710
    Post Thanks / Like
    I used to qt my fish and I still got
    Ich no more qt for me

  6. Likes Joe liked this post
  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Sharkboy99999's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,378
    Post Thanks / Like
    I used to qt fish. From my experience is that if a fish brought in a disease. that my other fish most likely won't get it if there healthy. If they are healthy they should be able to fight it off.

    Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

  8. Likes Joe liked this post
  9. #6
    Site Administrator
    Murfman's Avatar
    Diamond Mine Champion!
    Fruit Twirls Champion!
    Queen Jewel Champion!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Old Farm
    Posts
    13,218
    Post Thanks / Like
    With QT, you should check water quality 2x a day. Most of what I have lost in QT is from Ammonia poisoning by me being lazy/stupid/naive. From what it sounds like your QT might be too small for your livestock. What size is it? Do the fish have hiding places?
    The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. - Jacques Cousteau


    Wine is for wisdom, beer is for strength, but bourbon is the water of life.


    The New glass 300 build
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showt...ighlight=ghost

  10. #7
    Registered User Just_Tim's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like
    My qt tanks have always varied in size but this one is a 20 gallon with enough pvc fittings for everyone to have their own spot. Before I lost everything I was testing ammonia every other day opposite of feeding days. Never once registered any. Also it got a 30% water change every other day. Think im going back to no qt though.

    Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk

  11. #8
    New User

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Used to qt also, but found the same result...healthy fish stay healthy. I also do use a UV sterilizer, but not sure that really matters.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •