Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: High TDS

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like

    High TDS

    Ok, so I have a crappy RO unit. I can not get my post membrane tds below 40. I have tried new filters, checked pressure, let water run then checked. Does anyone else have high tds readings. I am in the process of researching new units, but don't want same problem with new unit. I am burning through di way too fast

  2. #2
    Site Administrator
    Murfman's Avatar
    Diamond Mine Champion!
    Fruit Twirls Champion!
    Queen Jewel Champion!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Old Farm
    Posts
    13,218
    Post Thanks / Like
    What is your measurement going in? Just past the RO unit? Do you have a DI cartridge on it?
    The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. - Jacques Cousteau


    Wine is for wisdom, beer is for strength, but bourbon is the water of life.


    The New glass 300 build
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showt...ighlight=ghost

  3. #3
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,139
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by marcslove View Post
    Ok, so I have a crappy RO unit. I can not get my post membrane tds below 40. I have tried new filters, checked pressure, let water run then checked. Does anyone else have high tds readings. I am in the process of researching new units, but don't want same problem with new unit. I am burning through di way too fast
    Are you on a well? Well water chews through di. Like Murph asked what's your tds in? You may need a new membrane. Ro should remove 98% of whatever the in tds is.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Kirblit; 06-06-2016 at 08:47 PM.
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  4. #4
    Senior Member FireDawg56's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    205
    Post Thanks / Like
    I know about hard water I live in Security and my pre RO water sucks! But with all those changes you have done when did you have your TDS meter calibrated?

  5. #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the responses. Out of tap is 470. I am not sure about well water or not. Out of my di is 0, but I'm only getting 100g or so from a full cartridge. I bought bulk di off ebay, so a full refill cartridge runs about $3. The membrane is not that old. I bought it from Bush maybe 6 months ago. I am hoping everything is set up properly...there really isn't a lot to screw up, but it's def a possibility. Oh, my tds meter is a crappy one, but does seem to be reading just fine.

  6. #6
    Site Administrator
    Murfman's Avatar
    Diamond Mine Champion!
    Fruit Twirls Champion!
    Queen Jewel Champion!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Old Farm
    Posts
    13,218
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would check TDS coming out of the RO unit, before the DI. Chorline and Chloramine are what kill the RO membrane. You might end up having to change your carbon filters or adding a second. I'd go with 1 block and 1 Crushed carbon, after the sediment filter.
    The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. - Jacques Cousteau


    Wine is for wisdom, beer is for strength, but bourbon is the water of life.


    The New glass 300 build
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showt...ighlight=ghost

  7. #7
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,139
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfman View Post
    I would check TDS coming out of the RO unit, before the DI. Chorline and Chloramine are what kill the RO membrane. You might end up having to change your carbon filters or adding a second. I'd go with 1 block and 1 Crushed carbon, after the sediment filter.
    X2

    If you are on city water are there chloramines in your tap water or just chlorine in the springs? You can call your water service and ask them. It makes a difference in the kind of carbon filters you should be using. Like Paul said chlorine will destroy a ro membrane if it's making it through your carbon.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  8. #8
    Senior Member lsaint's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Canon City
    Posts
    1,704
    Post Thanks / Like
    something like this kit would work http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/brs-5-...grade-kit.html

  9. #9
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like
    tds is 40 out of membrane. Not sure about Cherokee water, I'll have to look into it.
    Just changed both filters, Prob gonna get a new unit soon

  10. #10
    Senior Member lsaint's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Canon City
    Posts
    1,704
    Post Thanks / Like
    So i emailed the director 4r Canyon City Water District and they use chlorine. "We use only chlorine for that purpose. An average disinfectant residual across our Distribution System is 1.0 mg/L." Not sure if that's good or bad

    Sent from the world of 100110

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •