Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 36

Thread: Ludacrisly High Phos!

  1. #1
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like

    Ludacrisly High Phos!

    I've been doing some digging on the Redfield ratio and possibly nitrate dosing and some other stuff because I'm really intrigued by it. My corals have been looking a little "off" lately and not much growth. Normal parameters Yada, Yada, Yada are OK. Well I figure what the heck let's test my NO3 and PO4 and see if I have a true "0" for them because that's a bad thing. I have always had a very low nutrient tank in the past so I figured that was the issue. Well long story short, that is not the case.....

    You ready...?
    I don't know if you are.......

    OK, it was 1.33!!!!!!!
    Yes there will be more to come on this when I get home.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  2. #2
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Oh, and for those wondering what a tank with that much phos looks like, well these were taken a week ago and it looks the same so you can imagine my surprise







    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  3. #3
    Public Relations Liasion
    static reef's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    3,874
    Post Thanks / Like
    1.33 still isnt that bad though. Like your temperature comment, it's all about stable conditions. A year and a half ago, grasshopper's alk was at 3 and his corals looked bad ***.
    Adding a reactor (what kind), water changes, or ?? to lower?

  4. #4
    Public Relations Liasion
    static reef's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    3,874
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sub topic- are you hand feeding your dendros and solars? My acans grow like weeds but my 1 head of dendro hasnt grown in over a year. It has great PE, but I dont had feed any of my corals and it is in 0 light.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by static reef View Post
    1.33 still isnt that bad though. Like your temperature comment, it's all about stable conditions. A year and a half ago, grasshopper's alk was at 3 and his corals looked bad ***.
    Adding a reactor (what kind), water changes, or ?? to lower?
    No its bad! At that rate it pretty much stops calcification completely. I have some giant water changes to do. I tracked down the problem, more on that later.

    To your other question no I don't hand feed much. I have them strategically placed in the flow to catch food. I put some food in they open up and then I add some more. They catch quite a bit.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  6. #6
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just in case anyone thinks it's a bad test it's not, I tested it a couple times . it's not a home use kit, it's on a HACH colorimeter at work. Here's the troubling results


    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Kirblit; 05-23-2016 at 07:40 PM.
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  7. #7
    Registered User

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Dalhart texas
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like
    It's incredible you didn't have an explosion of algea. I'm curious to see how this turns out, how are your coral colors now vs when you started dosing?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Nibrown9 View Post
    It's incredible you didn't have an explosion of algea. I'm curious to see how this turns out, how are your coral colors now vs when you started dosing?
    No dosing anything, never even got that far. I just tested my tank to see where it was at and, well it was not in a good place. I think I avoided the algae because I have no nitrates. You have to have, nitrates, po4, and carbon for photosynthesis and I am nitrate limiting and I think that saved me. Everyone should look into the Redfield ratio. Really gets the mind going and explains a lot of algae/cyano outbreaks. I'm gearing up for some big water changes currently. Corals look so so right now, we will see how this turns out.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  9. #9
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    So I think I found the culprit to be exhausted di resin. Di goes bad really, really fast on well water because of the high co2 in it. Well I just left it forever like that because the water out of the ro was fine. Well I believe it started to leach back out because my water barrel/topoff reads 0.09. Using this for top off for God knows how long is more than likely the cause and led to a buildup along with regular feeding. Believe it or not I have been running gfo the whole time as well.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  10. #10
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well with a hefty dose of gfo last night the phos is down to 0.97 which is much better than I thought it would be. Just need to do some big water changes and I should be back in business.


    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  11. Likes Murfman , static reef liked this post
  12. #11
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,968
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Kirblit View Post
    Just in case anyone thinks it's a bad test it's not, I tested it a couple times . it's not a home use kit, it's on a HACH colorimeter at work. Here's the troubling results


    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    More importantly, when I get up and running can I mail water to you for lab grade testing?

    Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge

  13. #12
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Levi View Post
    More importantly, when I get up and running can I mail water to you for lab grade testing?

    Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge
    Sorry, I wish I could. I actually don't use what I have access to most of the time. I could run metals and all sorts of stuff if I wanted to. I'll do some here or there for verification of stuff but for the most part I just use test kits like everyone else.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  14. #13
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,968
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Kirblit View Post
    Sorry, I wish I could. I actually don't use what I have access to most of the time. I could run metals and all sorts of stuff if I wanted to. I'll do some here or there for verification of stuff but for the most part I just use test kits like everyone else.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Where is the fun in that?

    Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge

  15. #14
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Levi View Post
    Where is the fun in that?

    Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge
    You know to be honest I would rather use normal kits for the most part anyway. You end up "chasing" less numbers that way because you tend to just go with what works for your tank and not match nsw numbers all the time. People try to match everything perfect all the time and don't stop to actually look at what is going on in their tank.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  16. Likes fisher, Levi liked this post
  17. #15
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,968
    Post Thanks / Like
    I don't disagree, but it would be fun to test samples against our regular kits to see how accurate they really are.

    Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge

  18. #16
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Levi View Post
    I don't disagree, but it would be fun to test samples against our regular kits to see how accurate they really are.

    Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge
    I have done that for alk, Cal and mag. They are all pretty accurate. I would say within the 5% they claim for the most part.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  19. #17
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well today it's down to 0.47 so I'll do a 50% change tomorrow and replace the gfo again and I should be back in business.

    I feel pretty dumb that this even happened. I guess I just figured it wasn't a problem because I don't have a lick of algae in the tank. I'm lucky I don't have any nitrates or I would probably have had a pretty bad outbreak. My corals are definitely still pretty ticked off but I shouldn't lose anything thank God.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  20. #18
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well the 70 gallon waterchange is done, now I wait.....





    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  21. #19
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,279
    Post Thanks / Like
    OK so I think I'm officially going crazy?? I just got in a nitrate test kit for the Redfield testing if I do that. Well give it a shot and nitrates waaaay out of range. The test maxes out at 4ppm. So I dilute, dilute, dilute. Long story short I maxed it out over the 64ppm range! I then grab a super expired api kit just to see. Well it confirms it's really high. Best I can tell prob 80-100? You be the judge.





    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  22. #20
    Registered User

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    What died in your tank?!? Seriously crazy stuff though

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •