Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Refractometer calibration

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Sharkboy99999's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,378
    Post Thanks / Like

    Refractometer calibration

    Any know how to calibrate a refractometer? Iwas mixing salt and when I was testing the water I noticed it was way under for what it normaly is at. I alywes mix the same amount of salt. So I tested my tank and it's saying I'm in hypo. Corals are fine.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Test with RO or distilled water to make sure it's zeroed and adjust as needed. You can also buy a 53ms calibration solution.
    http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/pinpoi...ion-fluid.html

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  3. Likes mbush73 liked this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like
    My problem is when I calibrate using the fluid I bought I get different results than when I calibrate using RO.

  5. #4
    Registered User

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Dalhart texas
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    What calibration fluid have you been using? Iv heard of people having problems with pinpoint fluids in the past

  6. #5
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by marcslove View Post
    My problem is when I calibrate using the fluid I bought I get different results than when I calibrate using RO.
    You should get 0 with RO or distilled. Then use the 53ms solution which should be 35ppt or 1.026

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  7. #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like
    I am using fluid from Aqua craft. When I zero with RO, then place fluid, its reading 1.029...not 1.026

  8. #7
    Senior Member Kirblit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hmm, Are they the same temp? Is it the 53ms solution? Try using distilled water, do you/have you ever checked your ro water for any tds? If you have tds in your ro it could throw it off. You could have a bad solution I suppose maybe get another one or it could be the refractometer.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Kirby

    My little slice of the ocean
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=228

  9. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like
    I need to have someone else check my salinity, I think

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •