Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Green hair algae

  1. #1
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like

    Green hair algae

    Having a tough time keeping this under control on the 29 gallon biocube. Have a good cleanup crew. Bought a skimmer. Any other thoughts??

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

  2. #2
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Need to look at your nutrient export. Is the skimmer running yet? Might just need to break in and give it some time my man

    We The Sheeple
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  3. #3
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like
    The skimmer has been running for about 2 weeks now. Getting a lot of crap out.

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

  4. #4
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Cut back on feedings would be my next suggestion and just keep it up. My sump had been festering cyano for months man and just the last few weeks it finally started going away after I slowed down feeding and started skimming much more wet

    We The Sheeple
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  5. #5
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like
    I also have a two little fishes reactor that just needs a pump. Do you think running GFO would help?

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Registered User

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Fountain
    Posts
    40
    Post Thanks / Like
    Don't know if it was just luck but I had a bad out break and I bought a fox face rabbit fish and he cleared it all up in about 1 week or so mine is a little to big to let u try in a 29 but maybe someone as one on here or you could buy one and trade later

  7. #7
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Couldn't say man, I have yet to run anything other than carbon, I'm sure others would be able to offer good advice on that however, wouldn't want to steer you wrong

    We The Sheeple
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  8. #8
    Site Administrator
    Murfman's Avatar
    Diamond Mine Champion!
    Fruit Twirls Champion!
    Queen Jewel Champion!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Old Farm
    Posts
    13,218
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sweat044 View Post
    I also have a two little fishes reactor that just needs a pump. Do you think running GFO would help?

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2
    Have you tested for phosphates? If you do run GFO, start with 1/3 the amount on the directions and then add 1/3 in a week or two and then the final 1/3. If you start out too much, you will bleach your corals.
    The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. - Jacques Cousteau


    Wine is for wisdom, beer is for strength, but bourbon is the water of life.


    The New glass 300 build
    http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showt...ighlight=ghost

  9. #9
    Senior Member coach's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canon City
    Posts
    942
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are you using rodi for top off and water changes? If so, how old are the membranes in your rodi filter? How frequently are you doing water changes?

  10. #10
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by coach View Post
    Are you using rodi for top off and water changes? If so, how old are the membranes in your rodi filter? How frequently are you doing water changes?
    Weekly water changes. Ro water only. Membranes about 6-8 months old.

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

  11. #11
    Senior Member coach's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canon City
    Posts
    942
    Post Thanks / Like
    What's the tds meter reading for your ro di?

  12. #12
    Master of the Universe


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2,936
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by coach View Post
    What's the tds meter reading for your ro di?
    I have a hand held one and its reading 0. But I'm not trusting it. I tested the sink water and it said 0 also. Think I'm going to buy new filters and membrane and a new tds meter. Any recommendations?

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

  13. #13
    New User Kio707's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    colorado springs
    Posts
    1,046
    Post Thanks / Like
    Get one you can put on ur unit. Coral Xpression sells membranes. Has them in stock too.


    David

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •