Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: turbojoe's budget 55 gallon

Post Thanks / Like

turbojoe's budget 55 gallon

Hello Everyone,

This thread will server as my introduction and tank thread. I'm mostly putting this up to document my progress, but also welcome your comments, advice, and scathing criticism. I'm very new to the hobby and probably jumped the gun in purchasing my setup, but so far I'm having what I believe is great success and excited to get started.

I've been interested in reef aquariums for many years, but was always under the impression that I could not afford to get started. I heard the initial startup costs were thousands of dollars and the failure rate was very high. It never dawned on me that I could purchase an established tank for a fraction of the cost until my friend purchased a setup from a member of this form a couple of weeks ago. I immediately began watching the form and craigslist for a deal that was within my budget. I considered a cube, but knew that I would want to go bigger quickly. I also thought about a relatively large tank, such as a 90-130 gallon, but plan on moving in the next year or so and didn't want to go too big. I finally found a 55 gallon complete setup for what I thought was a good price, but it was covered in green hair algae. I figured I would take a gamble and attempt to rescue the tank and that's where I'm at now.

Here is a picture from Monday when we picked up the tank.

IMG_20141103_165411 copy.jpg

Here it is today after I've been cleaning it up.
    IMG_20141106_110917 copy.jpg

I'll post more pictures later.

The livestock includes a bunch of coral that I haven't really identified yet (I think it's mostly long hair mushroom coral) a leather coral of some sort, a Skarlet Skunk Claner Shrimp, a Yellowtail Damselfish, a Tracey's Damselfish, 2 Pajama Cardinalfish, and a Clown Fish.