Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Flying magic carpets everywhere....

  1. #1
    Registered User Socratic Reef's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NE Springs
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like

    Flying magic carpets everywhere....

    Ok, at one point not so long ago, I had a tank with some sand, rock, fish and corals, crabs and snails.

    Over the last few days, I now have a tank of Cyano. It looks like I have maroon velvet carpets all over the place. Even the snail and crab shells have it. I have never seen it this bad. It is covering most of my corals as well and as such, I have decided to take action. All of this happened within the last 3 days. I vacuumed what i thought was a ton of it off of the sand bad (and yes, I did still have some sand under it) but did not have any luck vacuuming it off of the rock.

    Anyways, i know I am not the first, nor will be the last to go down this path.

    I am curious though if products like red slime remover and chemi clean or others are worth it? I only have a 28g Nano and both of these products treat 300-400 gallons so I want to make sure before having to go out and buy some stuff that from a quantitiy perspective will be overkill - but will do it if the quality is there.

    By the way, I have no protein skimmer on my system.

    Thanks in advance.
    Confidence - That feeling you have beforeyou fully understand the situation.

  2. #2
    Senior Member codeman01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Falcon, CO
    Posts
    1,117
    Post Thanks / Like
    It may be a dumb question, but are your powerheads running? Normally you can fix the problem with some good flow. Also, if your tank can handle it, diamond gobies are great at cleaning that stuff from the sand.
    LEARNING SALTWATER ONE "CRASH" AT A TIME

  3. #3
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,956
    Post Thanks / Like
    He has wp-10s, I would move the power heads around aiming it at the rock and put it in else mode starting at s3 and work up. Once you clear one spot go to the next and so on

    Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Administrator
    kmellon's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Falcon
    Posts
    1,804
    Post Thanks / Like
    does he have two wp10's? you could add a cheap controller to alternate the two pumps to move the water around even more.

  5. #5
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,956
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yeah not sure if he got one or two

    Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Registered User Socratic Reef's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NE Springs
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, my powerhead is on. I only have one but it moves some water in in the Nano - too much in some cases, so no planning on getting another powerhead. With the flow... the Cyano just 'flies' in the water and streams off the rock or sand.
    I haven't actually moved the powerhead and pointed it directly at the rocks just yet, so I could give that a try.

    What about the sand though?
    Confidence - That feeling you have beforeyou fully understand the situation.

  7. #7
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Bleh... for some reason this just started happening in my tank... its freaking everywhere when I woke up today... I'm gonna attempt to increase flow with a bigger ph... how goes your battle? Anything specific that has worked for you thus far? I know it's been a few months

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  8. #8
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,956
    Post Thanks / Like
    main tank or the new 10g that is cycling?

  9. #9
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Main... haven changed anything and dont overfeed. .. I dunno... im going to add a bigger ph tonight and cross my fingers

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  10. #10
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,956
    Post Thanks / Like
    bigger ph? what do you mean by that?

  11. #11
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Power head lol...

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  12. #12
    Registered User Levi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    7,956
    Post Thanks / Like
    Oh lol

    Sent from your LG G2 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Senior Member JLAURENCE32's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,959
    Post Thanks / Like
    On cyano, high nutrients are the common problem. Namely phosphate. Yeah, some tanks can get away without a skimmer or without water changes or without a GFO reactor but I think it's pretty rare. Flow does help but won't eliminate the problem if the nutrients are too high. I never thought I fed alot but remember whatever you put in the tank either has to come out or be processed by the biosystem... On the Ultralife Red Slime Remover, it works and doesn't hurt corals or inverts but I always half dose it and suck all the cyano out first. Note that if you do have a skimmer you'll have to shut it off for a couple weeks as the chemical will raise the oxygen levels and make the skimmer overflow.

  14. #14
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well yesterday did a humongous water change and siphoned out all the cyano I could find as well as cleaned my skimmer and fixed my carbon reactor (I know its not gfo but it was broken and I was already under my tank working with crap haha) and added a power head to the system to increase all over flow. I am hoping that my problem may be solved in the next day of two. I have so far not seen any return bit lights have only been on an hour and a half... Fingers are crossed

    Sent from my RM-915_nam_usa_916 using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Coral Xpressions's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,068
    Post Thanks / Like
    control nutrient import.

    - Rinse your food thoroughly and dont feed as much flake.

    - increase lighting in your sump and slow the flow thru it to fuel you algea growth and thus the nutrient uptake

    I feed 3 frozen cubes and a pinch of flake everyday for my 180 and never, NEVER so much as a though of algea outside diatoms on glass.

    OR, take a carpet chunk of the cyano and relocate it into your sump and let it grow there
    Coral Xpressions
    coralxpressions@hotmail.com
    http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/...45044298939508


    When all else fails, kick it, smack it then throw it out the wndow and start over

  16. #16
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    That the thing. I have been growing cyano in my sump fora while now and it worried me at first until I was talking with Doyle and he reminded me that its ok lol... Then out of nowhere poof its in the display... I don't feed flake ir pellets. I dunno. I'm. Working in it I guess... I only feed one cube of food every 3 days or so. I get pretty forgetful sometimes.

    Sent from my RM-915_nam_usa_916 using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Sharkboy99999's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,378
    Post Thanks / Like
    I wouldn't want to be you fish


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Coral Xpressions's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,068
    Post Thanks / Like
    Feed more. Let nature take its course lol

    I'd check your water for phosphates before your next water change

    Sent from my C6916 using Tapatalk
    Coral Xpressions
    coralxpressions@hotmail.com
    http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/...45044298939508


    When all else fails, kick it, smack it then throw it out the wndow and start over

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Coral Xpressions's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,068
    Post Thanks / Like
    Or high levels of nitrate or tds

    Sent from my C6916 using Tapatalk
    Coral Xpressions
    coralxpressions@hotmail.com
    http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/...45044298939508


    When all else fails, kick it, smack it then throw it out the wndow and start over

  20. #20
    Senior Member charleshardy5's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,666
    Post Thanks / Like
    My to water is 0tds in the outline and the barrel after it sits for days... Does someone have a test kit I could borrow for phosphates?

    Sent from my RM-915_nam_usa_916 using Tapatalk
    Last time I checked my watch this was America!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •