PDA

View Full Version : lawnmower blenny is a pig

randomfish
11-30-2009, 03:24 PM
ok my lawnmower has eaten all my algae so i got some seaweed but he wont touch it what do i do :mad2::im a salt newb have had fw 4 years any guidence is helpful thx

Murfman
11-30-2009, 03:40 PM
He will eat it when he gets hungry. He will keep grazing the rock work too.

randomfish
11-30-2009, 03:43 PM
so he will be ok i dont want to starve him

calvin415
11-30-2009, 03:49 PM
Try to get him onto the Nori as soon as you can... Mine did a great job keeping my tank clean and was fat and happy until I started having issues growing algea... He wouldn't touch the Nori and finally gave into starvation instead of eating it.

Try a few different types, and if you have other fish eating it, try adding more in another place so he doesn't have to fight for it. I've had the best of luck wrapping a small rock and securing it with a rubberband for my tangs, but my blenny still never touched it. :(

-Good luck!

randomfish
11-30-2009, 04:01 PM
thx i will try that but his only compitition are the turbo snails its a new set up just at 2 months old so dont have any other fish yet

LBigheadM
11-30-2009, 08:01 PM
Both of my lawnmowers eat spiralina flakes.

Deuce67
11-30-2009, 08:37 PM
Will it eat bryopsis? If so, ill trade you some frags for it lol!

rojo1
11-30-2009, 08:38 PM
MY blenny well even chase down the cyclop-eeze when I feed the tank and will eat it. Oh and he loves the seaweed that I feed my tang.

randomfish
11-30-2009, 08:44 PM
i dont know deuce but he has taken a couple bites of the seaweed (awesome) but dont you think my tank is to new for corals its only 2 months please let me know if i can start adding frags

bandr1002
11-30-2009, 11:10 PM