PDA

View Full Version : lighting

Roger
12-19-2008, 10:33 AM
First off thanks for allowing me to join your site, looks like a real nice place. I am new to the saltwater enviroment and was hoping some of you experienced folks could help me out a little. I have a 125 non-drilled reef mostly soft and a few lps. I currently have 2 36 inch 2 96 watt pc's on the tank. I am wanting to upgrade to keep clams and lps. I guess the question is how is the best way to do this. I obviously need MH but should I build a canopy and go with retrofit, or go with a fixture. I am roughly 20 inch deep so what about wattage and how many. Thanks hope I am not posting this somewhere I shouldn't be.

lmarc78
12-19-2008, 10:38 AM
Roger welcome to the club. This is a great place for info.

I will be selling a Haminlton 3x175 MH with a retrofit hood here in the next 2 weeks or so.
It has 2 new Reeflux 12k bulbs and 2 old 14K phoenix bulbs. It also have 2X165 VHO actinics.

Send me a PM if you are intersted.

JLAURENCE32
12-19-2008, 10:42 AM
Hey Roger, welcome to the club. Make sure to post under the General forum in the Introduction thread. Whatever you do, wait for at least a month and learn all you can here, then you can make an informed decision. I know I hated buying stuff twice.

calvin415
12-19-2008, 10:48 AM
Welcome to the Club Roger! With a 6 foot tank, you probably want to go with 3 bulbs to ensure even coverage. Wattage is probably preference and what you want to do long term... Some Clams don't require as much as others, but assuming you want either Maxima or Crocea you need some pretty good light. 3x250w minimum IMO. The 175's Marc is selling may work for your needs (will support LPS and some Clams just fine), but ultimately it's your call. If you want an "Open Top" look, a pendant would be sweet, but if you want a canopy "Closed Top" then a Retro or Pendant setup would be ideal.