PDA

View Full Version : Reefkeeper help



Hydroid
04-29-2017, 10:50 AM
Just upgraded from RKL to RKE my problem Is temp through the slx module it's working backwards I put probe in warm water the temp goes down put it on cold the temp goes up
I've tried a new probe same issue, multiple resets to factory setting and recalibrations. Still backwards can't find anything on this problem on the digital aquatics sight. Hoping someone here has some insight into this problem.

Untill I get it figured out the RKL is running my temperature controls everything else is working fine on the RKE

Thanks

hooked
04-29-2017, 11:36 AM
Are you using the correct probe? RKL probes won't work on a RKE.

Hydroid
04-29-2017, 11:44 AM
Are you using the correct probe? RKL probes won't work on a RKE.

Yes I'm using the correct probe with a little Molex connector on the slx module not the itemp probe. the RKL probe is still on the RKL running my heater because this one's not working right.

I actually have 2 probe both do the same thing one is brand new in thinking it has something to do with the SLX module

Hydroid
04-29-2017, 01:33 PM
Looks like it's the SLX module at fault . I connected a SL1 module to system and both temp probes work correctly. Just need to figure out how to fix the SLX module....

maxthedog2000
04-29-2017, 03:53 PM
I have reversed the polarity before using the molex connectors, see if you change what side it's connected to if it fixes the issue. Your SL1 may be auto correcting somehow

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Hydroid
04-29-2017, 05:11 PM
I have reversed the polarity before using the molex connectors, see if you change what side it's connected to if it fixes the issue. Your SL1 may be auto correcting somehow

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

I did try swapping the polarity on the older probe but not the new one it didn't help. Thanks for the suggestion though

maxthedog2000
04-29-2017, 05:12 PM
I did try swapping the polarity on the older probe but not the new one it didn't help. Thanks for the suggestion though
It was worth a try


Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Hydroid
04-29-2017, 05:58 PM
Yup thanks all suggestions are appreciated. I have and email into digital aquatics about it we'll see what comes of it.

charleshardy5
04-29-2017, 07:20 PM
Have you upgraded the firmware of the slx?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Hydroid
04-29-2017, 07:23 PM
Have you upgraded the firmware of the slx?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Yup all modules are the newest firmware I even tried redoing the one for the slx and reset to factory defaults to no help.

charleshardy5
04-29-2017, 07:25 PM
Using DA supplied rj12 cables to link your units?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Hydroid
04-29-2017, 08:14 PM
Yes sir the sl1 is in the same spot with the same cables plug in and it works fine and it's only the temp that's messed up the two ph ports work perfectly

Hydroid
05-02-2017, 09:36 PM
Thought I'd share the outcome of this problem for anyone that might have this issue down the line.
Customer service was very helpful. I had to perform an intentional update failure. By unplugging the sid cable from module mid update this would cause the system to issue the module a new serial number after selecting what the module was from a drop down menu. Apparently this would cause it to write a whole new calibration table from scratch. Worked perfectly module works as it should now

Thanks to all who tried to help me