PDA

View Full Version : DI Resin Question



lsaint
12-11-2015, 08:54 PM
How long does DI Resin last for you guys? before you start to see TDS and need to replace it

hooked
12-11-2015, 09:17 PM
I can usually get about 9 months out of mine. That's making 50-70 gallons per week. I've herd that if your membrane is going bad you will burn thru di faster though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lsaint
12-11-2015, 09:25 PM
I have been watching videos on it and they say it depends on your water from some people get a month some a year. My first membrane is a little over a year old I got it at MACNA in denver and my other one is at a year so I dont think is them.

Coral Xpressions
12-11-2015, 09:32 PM
Check the tds out of your membrane. I replace mine once it starts reading 10 or more. Normally I'm at 4 or 5. And that's with it going in at 650. My resin usually lasts me about 5 months but I make an ungodly amount of water a week

hooked
12-11-2015, 09:35 PM
Yeah, I forgot to tell you that my incoming tds is usually between 40-45. So my filter barely has to do anything.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lsaint
12-11-2015, 09:46 PM
I am getting 28 going into the DI

Coral Xpressions
12-11-2015, 09:46 PM
I'd replace your membrane for sure

Coral Xpressions
12-11-2015, 09:47 PM
That's gonna burn thru the resin super fast

lsaint
12-11-2015, 09:47 PM
Incoming TDS is around 100 right now and about 150 in the summers

lsaint
12-11-2015, 09:47 PM
Should I replace the 2 of them?

Coral Xpressions
12-11-2015, 09:48 PM
2? I'd recommend filters and membrane get replaced

lsaint
12-11-2015, 09:50 PM
I have 2 on my system

Coral Xpressions
12-11-2015, 09:51 PM
Do they run one after the other

lsaint
12-11-2015, 10:08 PM
yep I have a upgrade kit

www.bulkreefsupply.com/brs-150-gpd-water-saver-upgrade-kit.html

lsaint
12-12-2015, 12:16 AM
F-it I bought the 2 of them

SpaceOps
12-12-2015, 10:21 AM
What is everybody on city water doing to filter out chlorine in the water before it hits the membrane?

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

lsaint
12-12-2015, 11:43 AM
Nothing i might add an carbon before the unit one day. Mine isn't to bad. I dont smell it

SpaceOps
12-12-2015, 11:45 AM
I read several years ago that chlorine damages the membrane, and carbon filters it out

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

SpaceOps
12-12-2015, 12:14 PM
Try filling a gallon milk jug to within a couple inches of the top with tap water and tightening the cap overnight. When you open the cap the next day, have your nose right at the opening. The chlorine gas leaves the water and collects in the air pocket. Nasty stuff.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Coral Xpressions
12-12-2015, 01:19 PM
Maybe I under think things but my carbon block reduces choline taste and odor, do my thought would be it's removing some of it. Could be wronghttp://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/12/430909a3226b3ab8e3973ba94e7307c6.jpg

lsaint
12-12-2015, 02:22 PM
Do you think i sould upgrade to 2 carbons?

Coral Xpressions
12-12-2015, 02:27 PM
Nah. 1 sediment and 1 carbon will be good enough. I would recommend anothet dual tds meter so you can have accurate reading out of both your membranes so you'll know which one to replace and when

lsaint
12-12-2015, 02:32 PM
I have one on water coming in one on the water coming out of the membrane and one after the di

Coral Xpressions
12-12-2015, 02:33 PM
If I understand your setup correctly both your membranes "Y" into eaxh other before going into the di resin right

Coral Xpressions
12-12-2015, 02:34 PM
Basically the waste watwr from one membrane feeds the other membrane?

lsaint
12-12-2015, 03:11 PM
Yep

Coral Xpressions
12-12-2015, 03:24 PM
I would put a tds meter directly out of each membrane to be able to read each one individually so you'd know exactly which was bad as they might not go bad at the same time. The meter on your intake line isn't really needed as you can't change the water being fed to your house

charleshardy5
12-12-2015, 04:28 PM
I would put a tds meter directly out of each membrane to be able to read each one individually so you'd know exactly which was bad as they might not go bad at the same time. The meter on your intake line isn't really needed as you can't change the water being fed to your house
Booya that's how mine is set up. I get about 10tds out of my first membrane into the second and 2 tds out of the second into the DI resin

Sent from my MT2L03 using Tapatalk

lsaint
12-12-2015, 04:37 PM
Ya i am thinking i have a bad membranes

Levi
12-13-2015, 07:16 PM
I'm replacing my membrane with a 100gpd and adding a second 100gpd membrane so I should be where I want to be with production

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk

lsaint
12-13-2015, 07:47 PM
Ya hmmmm

lsaint
12-17-2015, 09:59 AM
Just got the new filters replace them and getting about two TDs right before the DI

SpaceOps
12-17-2015, 10:12 AM
Seems to me di might not be necessary with two TDs output from the membrane

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

lsaint
12-17-2015, 10:19 AM
I am getting 0 now on 2 testers now

SpaceOps
12-17-2015, 10:21 AM
Doesn't get any better

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk