PDA

View Full Version : Advice on dosers please



Just_Tim
02-27-2015, 03:24 PM
I am looking for a reliable dosing unit/controller. I'm really needing input for what work and what doesn't, what doesn't lose power and then dump the contents if the reservoir effectively nuking a tank. I'm hopefully going to be making a choice in a week or two and ordering one.
Thanks in advance




I am America and So can You

charleshardy5
02-27-2015, 03:30 PM
Aqua medic, marine magic, think digital aquatics has a doser for RK models as well

Your Resident Scruffy Looking Nerf Herder

Levi
02-27-2015, 03:31 PM
Best unit you can get for cheap is a DIY peristaltic pump hooked to a DC power supply and to a timer. Basically a digital timer will dose down to 1 minute incriments so you measure how much comes out in 1 minute. If power goes out usually the digital timers have a battery inside so they dont lose time but they NEVER default in the ON position.

Just_Tim
02-27-2015, 03:33 PM
That sounds good but I'd rather have an all in one multi pump unit.




I am America and So can You

Murfman
02-27-2015, 03:36 PM
is this for your 300? if so, I'd go Ca Reactor.

Just_Tim
02-27-2015, 03:46 PM
is this for your 300? if so, I'd go Ca Reactor.

It's for the entire combined system. Round about 500 gal.




I am America and So can You

Romebaby
02-27-2015, 04:12 PM
is this for your 300? if so, I'd go Ca Reactor.

+1.

Just_Tim
02-27-2015, 04:13 PM
I wish I knew more about Ca reactors. I know that they need co2.




I am America and So can You

Levi
02-27-2015, 04:14 PM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-DC-Dosing-pump-Peristaltic-dosing-Head-For-Aquarium-Lab-Adjustable-speed/121286358235?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%2 6asc%3D20131003132420%26meid%3Da827a95745664e1b914 aeaa355608950%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D6%26 sd%3D221254624544&rt=nc

DIY one of these using

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dosing-Pump-Peristaltic-dosing-Head-For-Aquarium-Lab-chemical-Analytical-DC/271785923021?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%2 6asc%3D20131003132420%26meid%3Db1999cd8f35a4dac9be 90129940e759d%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26 sd%3D121286358235&rt=nc

and a few other cheap items you can pick up at OEM parts in colorado springs.

Should be able to make each doser for under $20.

Levi
02-27-2015, 04:17 PM
jebao is a knock off of a very nice expensive dosing pump

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JEBAO-DP-4-AUTO-DOSING-PUMP-SALTWATER-AQUARIUM-REEF-/111577897740?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19fa8f9b0c

this is the knock off profilux

http://www.aquacave.com/ghl-profilux-dosing-system-add-on-3-pumps-w-o-controller.html?fee=1&fep=1948&gclid=CjwKEAiAyMCnBRDa0Pyex-qswB0SJADKNMKAftSy8OmysPXG4aavTnh_fZfSVpBs2kN0LGrw 4wyKCxoCVSnw_wcB

there is a new profilux dosing unit

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GHL-Profilux-Stand-Alone-Dosing-System-2-3-Pumps-Black-/351284787698?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item51ca3479f2

Romebaby
02-27-2015, 04:17 PM
You'll be going through a lot of calc & alk in a 500 gallon system with dosers.

Murfman
02-27-2015, 04:19 PM
CO2, regulator and media canister. Plug pH probe into controller and set CO2 to pH of 6.7 and let it go. Don't worry about bubbles. The CO2 "melts" calcium media at 6.7 pH. Mine comes on at +6.8 and off at -6.6. pump feeds water into reactor and another pump mixes water in the reactor.

Levi
02-27-2015, 04:30 PM
do I guess I need to start searching for a calcium reactor since my apex has 2x ports for PH probes. I didnt realize it was that easy. How do you manage alk then? Kalk stirrer?

Just_Tim
03-01-2015, 10:11 PM
Its my understanding that the alk comes from the co2 used to dissolve the clacium media. From my reading it looks like a fairly robust pump is needed because of the soft acidic water it will be in contact with. Hmm. I have enough calc and alk dosing liquid to last me a few more months so ill be doing more research on the subject.

Luke W.
03-26-2015, 07:11 AM
Would the jebao knock off work on my 150 with 55 sump?

Murfman
03-26-2015, 08:16 AM
Its my understanding that the alk comes from the co2 used to dissolve the clacium media. From my reading it looks like a fairly robust pump is needed because of the soft acidic water it will be in contact with. Hmm. I have enough calc and alk dosing liquid to last me a few more months so ill be doing more research on the subject.

I have had my Ca Reactor running 4 years with the same little fountain pump. The pump never touches the alk laced water put pulls water from the tank and as the new water replaces the old, it forces it out the Ca reactor. I have the same Eheim mixing pump that came with the reactor. The guy I bought it from used it for a couple of years before I got it.

Murfman
03-26-2015, 08:16 AM
Its my understanding that the alk comes from the co2 used to dissolve the clacium media. From my reading it looks like a fairly robust pump is needed because of the soft acidic water it will be in contact with. Hmm. I have enough calc and alk dosing liquid to last me a few more months so ill be doing more research on the subject.

I have had my Ca Reactor running 4 years with the same little fountain pump. The pump never touches the alk laced water put pulls water from the tank and as the new water replaces the old, it forces it out the Ca reactor. I have the same Eheim mixing pump that came with the reactor. The guy I bought it from used it for a couple of years before I got it.

charleshardy5
03-26-2015, 08:29 AM
Would the jebao knock off work on my 150 with 55 sump?
I would advise against using a knock off Chinese brand dosing pump. When it comes to something like chemicals.... really wanna take that chance?

Your Resident Scruffy Looking Nerf Herder

Sharkboy99999
03-26-2015, 08:36 AM
I would advise against using a knock off Chinese brand dosing pump. When it comes to something like chemicals.... really wanna take that chance?

Your Resident Scruffy Looking Nerf Herder

+1 I've heard that some of these start to creep up on you ( starts dosing more ) so u have to check them to see if they are dosing what you want .


Sent by me

Levi
03-27-2015, 02:22 AM
+1 I've heard that some of these start to creep up on you ( starts dosing more ) so u have to check them to see if they are dosing what you want .


Sent by me
Non variable speed single pumps hooked to a digital timer will not dose more than you expect. If anything they will fail and just quit dosing. I trust my apex and digital timers over chinese controllers.

static reef
03-27-2015, 03:58 AM
Non variable speed single pumps hooked to a digital timer will not dose more than you expect. If anything they will fail and just quit dosing. I trust my apex and digital timers over chinese controllers.
Agreed

SpaceOps
02-01-2016, 11:14 AM
Best unit you can get for cheap is a DIY peristaltic pump hooked to a DC power supply and to a timer. Basically a digital timer will dose down to 1 minute incriments so you measure how much comes out in 1 minute. If power goes out usually the digital timers have a battery inside so they dont lose time but they NEVER default in the ON position.

I've been thinking about getting a dosing pump, but found a few horror stories online where the alk pump stayed on and smoked the tank. I like the idea of using separate pumps on a digital timer. The only pain is calculating the concentration of your solutions so you don't overdose. Still, you only have to do the calculations once.I found this one online that also gives you some added control, buy you still need a digital timer. http://www.myaquastore.com/en/dosing-equipment/dosing-pump-peristaltic-dosing-pump-for-aquarium-do-it-yourself-white-color.html. This one uses a 12VDC pump, which is really cheap to replace if it dies.

I found one thread online that recommends using an Apex to monitor pH and shut off the pump when pH hits a certain value. Great backup, even with a digital timer.

Levi
02-01-2016, 11:21 AM
With every great thing comes a horror story. I can nuke my tank of I don't setup my apex correctly and it leaves my heater on. I like where you are headed though with building in some type of failsafe to help in case of an issue.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk

SpaceOps
02-01-2016, 03:38 PM
Disregard the link to the dosing pump with variable speed. It turns out it uses a friction device to slow the pump. That sounds like a failure waiting to happen.

I guess even if you don't use the friction device, it's not a bad deal for the price. You get the pump, power supply and the box. I'm thinking it's possible to replace the friction device with a potentiometer and knob.

I definitely don't believe failsafe is reality, but failure resistant is a good idea.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

SpaceOps
02-01-2016, 05:50 PM
Apparently, there is no shortage of ideas on DIY dosing pumps. There are a lot of geniuses out there who've thought up some pretty creative ways to get the job done, from using a timer and an air pump, mini water pump or peristaltic pump, to Arduino-based units (some people have way too much time on their hands).

Levi
02-01-2016, 06:16 PM
Arduino to stepper motors is how I would do it if I was trying to diy

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk

SpaceOps
02-01-2016, 07:25 PM
So would I, but I don't have that much free time.

Just_Tim
02-01-2016, 09:43 PM
I am looking for a reliable dosing unit/controller. I'm really needing input for what work and what doesn't, what doesn't lose power and then dump the contents if the reservoir effectively nuking a tank. I'm hopefully going to be making a choice in a week or two and ordering one.
Thanks in advance




I am America and So can You
I never decided....but this thread took off.

Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk

SpaceOps
02-01-2016, 11:06 PM
What do they say? Fish or cut bait? Lol

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

SpaceOps
02-04-2016, 03:47 PM
That was a fish joke.

Levi
02-06-2016, 03:05 AM
http://www.aquamedicusa.com/product/reefdoser-evo-4/

this is the main unit I am going to go with eventually when I can afford it. I will also be getting the slave unit to go along with it. The controller allows for you to calibrate each pump which is nice. Bush can get you prices on these units.

http://www.aquamedicusa.com/product/reefdoser-add-4/

this is the add on slave unit