PDA

View Full Version : Another new guy

Rich
02-21-2015, 12:01 PM
Hi, my name is Rich (really creative username to match). I'm fairly new to reef aquariums and have put my faith into John over at Mr. Aqua to help me along the way. I'm looking forward to learning a lot from everyone. Right now I just have a 29g reef until I can afford to get something bigger. It's currently stocked with a skunk cleaner, paired Oc. Clowns, a valentine puffer that my wife wanted (pain in the butt), 3 small frags of zoas, a tooth coral, a torch coral, gsp, a RBTA, a bunch of nassarius snails, 1 turbo snail, and blue/purple mushrooms.

The tank has had some fatalities... my blenny decided that he only wanted film algae and would not eat anything else and died after about 3 weeks. I had a favites brain coral that suddenly turned into brown mush over night. I had more turbos, but the puffer decided that his food was not enough... I was worried about my RBTA for a while because he lost size and color after 3 months of being in the tank. He's starting to regain his color and returns to a larger size for 2 days after feeding.

I met a couple over at Mr. Aqua that told me about the website. Unfortunately, I'm really bad with names.

hooked
02-21-2015, 12:08 PM
Welcome to the group, Rich. We are having a club meeting next weekend at Levi"s house. You should plan to come, all are welcome.

http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?17652-February-28th-Meeting

Rich
02-21-2015, 12:15 PM
Welcome to the group, Rich. We are having a club meeting next weekend at Levi"s house. You should plan to come, all are welcome.

http://www.thescmas.com/forums/showthread.php?17652-February-28th-Meeting

I'll try to make it. Depending on the weather the wife will make me work on the house. If I do, I'll bring my lightsaber. :)

Just_Tim
02-21-2015, 12:17 PM
Welcome and don't hesitate to field those tank questions here. Mr Aqua still tells people that fish only grow to the size of the tank.