PDA

View Full Version : super noob question, Heater placment



howard24
01-24-2015, 10:49 PM
I was planing on having two heaters, one for the tank and one for the sump. Can I get away with just one in the sump? I guess it would be nice to have less stuff in the tank. I ended up getting a 300 watt for such a big tank, would it be to much for the sump?

Campbell
01-24-2015, 11:01 PM
Part of the reason for a sump is to hide all the ugly stuff like heaters in my opinion but I've seen people put them in overflows and do just fine. I recommend a controller of some sort to control heat, and to mitigate any future issues, such as a reefkeeper or an apex. As long as you have flow hitting the heaters though, it should be fine you just have to take temperature readings around the system to ensure its all maintaining the same temp. The downside to having them all in the sump is that if a power outage happens for an elongated period of time or the return pump fails then you may need to move a heater to the main display running off generator or backup battery...

I have two 300w viaAqua titanium heaters in my 150 (on controller of course) and my temperature stays very constant. I placed one in the first chamber and one in the second...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

howard24
01-24-2015, 11:07 PM
Awesome thanks

Campbell
01-24-2015, 11:11 PM
Hope it helps there's probably more people on here that will chime in and give you some other options or ideas... Those are just mine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

penrosereefer
01-24-2015, 11:13 PM
I keep mine in overflow box, and have in all my tanks that have been RR. Otherwise in the sump

Coral Xpressions
01-24-2015, 11:54 PM
ive always kept all mine in the sump. half were place a degree lower than my desired temp and the other half a degree higher

scrumpto
01-25-2015, 05:57 AM
I keep one in both the sump and the display. That way when I do maintenance and shut off the return the tank doesn't get cold.

howard24
01-25-2015, 12:11 PM
That's what I was thinking. I moved it to the sump return portion seems like its working fin

Just_Tim
01-25-2015, 12:37 PM
I keep mine in overflow box, and have in all my tanks that have been RR. Otherwise in the sump

I too keep my heater in my overflow mostly because my tank is on the large size and my heater doesn't fit in the sump.




I am America and So can You

Just_Tim
01-25-2015, 12:38 PM
That's what I was thinking. I moved it to the sump return portion seems like its working fin

The return chamber is a dangerous place for a heater IMO. If your pump chamber runs dry you risk a heater meltdown.




I am America and So can You

howard24
01-25-2015, 01:06 PM
http://imgur.com/Kyly43M
http://imgur.com/f3evpOD

howard24
01-25-2015, 01:36 PM
Im not sure how the sump would run empty. If the power goes out it will just get more water in it.

Sharkboy99999
01-25-2015, 01:42 PM
If you don't top off the tank


Sent by me

TheMadReefer
01-25-2015, 01:43 PM
Im not sure how the sump would run empty. If the power goes out it will just get more water in it.

If the overflow got clogged, the pump would eventually run dry.

PS My heater is in the return side of my fuge, it will always have water.

howard24
01-25-2015, 01:49 PM
Ok that makes sense. I guess if I dont top off in that amount of time for it to run empty then I shouldnt have it. Im always checking it out so I guess I dont have to worry about that. Its sits right beside my tv in my living room so I dont have a choice but look at it.

Murfman
01-25-2015, 05:21 PM
Mine just sits in the bottom of my sump. I can move it any time I need to.