PDA

View Full Version : Doser and ATO for dummy...

ShankStripedLyretail
12-29-2014, 02:29 PM
So I've been debating on whether or not I need a doser and an automatic top off for my 55 whenever it gets setup and maybe adding one to my 180.

Problem is I know what they do, but not how they work, what's best for which setup, how they should be added to the system etc.

The 55 will be a mixed reef (LPS and softies) and will not have a sump. My 180 does and I will add softies whenever the CCS is removed. I manually top off both tanks everyday and do regular (10% weekly) water changes with IO RC in order to maintain regular essential element levels...

I've recently read on my other forum that the "reef" salts aren't worth the extra money and do nothing but raise the ca2/kh levels which feed bacteria in a tank with high nutrient levels. So in lieu of this information, I'm confused on the topic of dosing vs salt mix.

Any pointers appreciated. I'm new to this equipment. Thanks, guys!

Levi
12-29-2014, 02:36 PM
Good question...DOYLE....

Hooked can probably give the best answer

hooked
12-29-2014, 02:39 PM
Here is a good read on dosing. http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2003/2/chemistry

As far as auto top off. There are several budget ways to go. I am using 3 different methods on 3 different systems. You are welcom to swing by and look at them next time you are in town.

ShankStripedLyretail
12-29-2014, 03:11 PM
Thanks, guys :)

Man, I'm gonna have loads of fun whenever I take my organic chem class o_o reading that article mind = blown happens every time when I try to understand the relationship between calk, alk, mag and pH... I've still got so much to learn and a long way to go.

Thanks, Doyle, I'll have to stop by whenever I start looking at and buying equipment... Maybe by then the roads won't be covered in snow

hooked
12-29-2014, 03:13 PM
Here is a link to several really good articles that help explain alot.