PDA

View Full Version : Best way to produce large bio load with 0 fish?



Levi
02-25-2014, 12:19 AM
Like the title says I am trying to google how to produce a large bio load on the tank to prep it for a ton of fish at one time and haven't found anything really on it.

Interested in thoughts and ideas on how to best do it with 0 fish in the tank. What I would like to be able to do is put in all of the peaceful fish first (pipefish, mandarins, etc) and make sure the tank is ok with this bio load, then start ramping the bio load up synthetically in preparation for all of the tangs I want to stick in at once. Then ramp it up even more to handle all of the semi aggressive fish.

Obviously these stages will be done with 2-3 months to let the cycle catch up if any and then 2-3 months to ramp up for the next load of fish.

I probably will not get every fish on my wish list as the pure dollar cost is more than probably a new car BUT even with nearly 300 gallons of water, I cant imagine that I wont have some type of mini cycle when adding 10-15 tangs at once.

I have read that people use raw shrimp to start the cycle, adding nitrifying bacteria and something like this, would it be possible to feed the bacteria and ramp up the cycle?

89delta
02-25-2014, 01:59 AM
I've heard of people using ammonia to kick start it instead of waiting for the shrimp to break down. Then there is that one stuff u were telling me about that smells rancid.....lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk

Levi
02-25-2014, 02:25 AM
I've heard of people using ammonia to kick start it instead of waiting for the shrimp to break down. Then there is that one stuff u were telling me about that smells rancid.....lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk

http://www.drgsmarineaquaculture.com/fritzzyme-fritz-aquatics-live-nitrifying-bacteria-turbo-start-900-detail.cfm

lsaint
02-25-2014, 08:23 AM
Put a dead fish in there

coach
02-25-2014, 08:48 AM
http://www.petco.com/product/111072/Microbe-Lift-Special-Blend-Aquarium-Bacteria.aspx
I used this stuff. Its pretty nasty but built a pretty good bio load. Also, in my opinion, if you are going to put pipe fish and mandarin in first there should be a pretty good population of pods.

Levi
02-25-2014, 09:11 AM
http://www.petco.com/product/111072/Microbe-Lift-Special-Blend-Aquarium-Bacteria.aspx
I used this stuff. Its pretty nasty but built a pretty good bio load. Also, in my opinion, if you are going to put pipe fish and mandarin in first there should be a pretty good population of pods.

I have SO many pods in the 2 months that my tank has remained fallow its CRAZY. I got them from Bush and from Joe.

Murfman
02-25-2014, 09:13 AM
Like Martin said, use straight ammonia to simulate fish waste and start the cycle.