PDA

View Full Version : Anenome Question

cfisk
01-03-2014, 09:52 AM
First off, please forgive the newbie-ness of this question!

Husband and I just got our first bubble tipped anenome last week. He seemed to be doing well in our tank:
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/03/epahunar.jpg

We noticed Wednesday night that he keeps doing this off and on:
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/03/yteme5y4.jpg

Is this normal, or is something seriously wrong? As of this morning the lights are off and he looks back to normal again, so I'm not sure what to think.

Thanks!

sweat044
01-03-2014, 09:55 AM
I have never had an Anenome but from what I have read they need to have a well established tank to survive. It doesn't look right but again I am no expert. You may want to read up on them and see what others have experienced. You can google just about anything.

hooked
01-03-2014, 10:02 AM
Could be doing a self water change. They will do that from time to time. Keep an eye on it. Should get back to normal after a day or two.
How long has the tank been set up? everyone says not to add a nem until the tank is at least 6 months old. I'm no expert though.
Maybe Stacy7127 will chime in. He is the go to guy when it comes to nems.

cfisk
01-03-2014, 10:05 AM
This tank has been set up for 2 months, but it was also a transfer from a smaller tank if that makes a difference.

Part of the reason why we joined this forum is we started to question some of the advice Sage from Seascapes was giving us. She told us our tank would be fine for an anenome and even recommended it. Bummer.

If our tank truly isn't ready since it hasn't been a full 6 months in this exact tank, what should we do? Any advice?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

hooked
01-03-2014, 10:10 AM