PDA

View Full Version : Coral removal

Hydroid
10-08-2013, 06:44 PM
Ok I'm new to the hobby so forgive the ignorance

I have these bland colored soft coral polyps I really don't know what there called but they are growing and spreading at an alarming rate. What is the correct method for pruning them back.
I know they have a toxin that is none to pleasant. I also don't want to not hurt the other corals on the same rock a torch and the other I think is a Xenia.please correct me if necessary.

http://i1280.photobucket.com/albums/a489/handcannon44/image_zps1dae9027.jpg (http://s1280.photobucket.com/user/handcannon44/media/image_zps1dae9027.jpg.html)

The second question is along same lines. I have a small rock covered in macro algae I would like to move to my refugium. The hitch is it also has a nice little toadstool on it I would like to save how do I remove from the rock to relocate it or should I leave it. Will it even survive in the lower flow of the refugium?

http://i1280.photobucket.com/albums/a489/handcannon44/image_zps157e9a8a.jpg (http://s1280.photobucket.com/user/handcannon44/media/image_zps157e9a8a.jpg.html)

Please ignore the embarrassing hair algae it's an ongoing battle:banghead:

89delta
10-08-2013, 07:30 PM
To me the best thing to do with both rocks is to propagate the softies to another rock or plug.

Hydroid
10-08-2013, 07:46 PM
How is that done?

I am interested in saving the toadstool but don't know how to remove it from its current rock correctly

The others I don't care much about there kind of plain and don't want them taking over the tank

89delta
10-08-2013, 07:56 PM
U can use a razor blade on all 3 at the base where they meet the rock. You can try superglue but it's never worked for me. I just place the "frag" into the sandbed in a low flow area and let them attach to the substrate. After about two weeks there will be enough substrate attached to where you can glue it to a piece of rock or a plug.

Hydroid
10-08-2013, 08:09 PM