PDA

View Full Version : Skimmer Design

Scotschult
04-07-2008, 06:28 PM
Great Thanks to Notchback for showing a link to a skimmer design in another thread!
I bought a setup that has a (I believe) SeaClone Skimmer. Found numerous reviews that basically said this was so-so at best. Since this is my first attempt at saltwater, I want to try do everything right the first time, or at least the best I can, till I learn otherwise. So I thought "Hey, why not try a DIY? I'm a pretty handy guy!". That being said:
My setup is-75 gal, with about 80-90 lbs live rock. No livestock yet. Right now the plan is FOWLR, eventually going to reef. The tank is starting to cycle, and I want to take it slow & easy, as in Baby Steps. Out all of the skimmer designs I've found, the one mentioned previously seems (to me, anyway) to be a pretty straight-forward design. However, most designs I've found (including this one?) seem to be geared towards having a sump, which I do not. No room. I'd like to try to recycle the SeaClone pump if possible. Does the attached picture seem feasible? Part of me say's "Sure, no problem!", while the other half say's "No way will that EVER work!". Thoughts? Input? I'm open for whatever.

Diagram is in no way to scale, but it's fairly close, with my (added) plumbing in red, and expanded/edited for clarity. Any/all help is appreciated.

Scott

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k49/scotschult/skimmer.jpg

Deuce67
04-07-2008, 06:36 PM
Skimmer input is way too high. You want that towards the bottom so there is more bubble contact time.

Scotschult
04-07-2008, 07:18 PM
Skimmer input is way too high. You want that towards the bottom so there is more bubble contact time.

The specs I have/plan to go by are: Body is 4" diameter, 4' high. Input fitting is 6" below the top. Would you think lower still? 12"-18"? Or maybe at the bottom?

Scott

Deuce67
04-07-2008, 07:25 PM