PDA

View Full Version : Science teacher newbie

Chris
01-11-2013, 10:42 AM
Hi everyone. I'm a science teacher in Castle Rock. A few of my students talked me into starting a salt tank this year. I've kept freshwater plant tanks, usually occupied with rainbows, for years. I started with a few pieces of live rock from a student and 20 lbs of live rock from Joseph. On one of the rocks from the student are a couple of heads of hairy mushrooms, I also got a rock from Joseph that is loaded with xenia and a beautiful little chalice. I find myself staring at the tank anytime I'm free, not sure why it took me so long to get into marine tanks. I love my plant tanks, but this is fun! I'm doing a lot of homework to make sure we're doing this right and I didn't know you could keep such amazing corals! I also think the pay it forward page is such a great idea, I'm checking it everyday, on a teachers salary I'm learning this isn't the easiest hobby to get into! Plus, paying it forward is something I try to instill into my kids and students. Excited to be a part of the forum!

ritmar
01-11-2013, 10:49 AM
Welcome Chris.

Joe
01-11-2013, 11:01 AM
Chris, welcome to the hobby (addiction). Our January meeting will be at my house in the NE part of the Springs on Jan 26th. I hope you can make it.

I will give you a small birds nest, a Kenya tree, and some nuclear holocaust zoas if you would like them. You don't have to come to the meeting to get them, you can stop by anytime. Also check out my thread about mandarin fish breeding under the captive propagation category. I'm just getting started, but it sure a science project for me.

lsaint
01-11-2013, 11:03 AM
Welcome Cris

I had a science teacher in high school that had a saltwater tank to. I would always sit next to the tank. That was the reason why I started my tank. Good luck with the tank

hooked
01-11-2013, 11:04 AM
Hi Chris,
Welcome to the club.
I too keep a planted tank but have been neglecting it as of late.