PDA

View Full Version : Switch to LED from T8 tube lighting

Waitejk
11-20-2012, 02:07 PM
Hello everyone!

Currently I have T8 tube lighting on my 55 gal tank (not sure if I should call it a reef tank yet, as I only have a few corals and 2 anemones). I want to switch to LED lighting soon and wanted some opinions on which kinds are best and what wattage I should go towards.

Stock in tank now:
Yellow tang
2 black and white clownfish
1 firefish goby
1 algae blenny
1 emerald crab
1 hermit crab
2 condy anemones
a ricordea of some sort
fuzzy mushrooms
kenya tree
polyps (can't remember exactly what kind)

All the corals in the tank I've had for several months and they are doing great with the T8 lighting and growing/splitting. I've only had the anemones for about a week. They seem to be doing ok so far.

I know nothing about lighting and what would be best for my tank. I would very much love to get everyone's opinion on what I could look into. I am still a newbie at keeping a saltwater tank. I was looking at the LEDs that PetCo has--Marineland brand, can't remember wattage. Would those be a good start?

stacy_vennes
11-20-2012, 02:21 PM
Please remember tank coverage when getting led lights. What i did was to go around and look at diferent members tank lighting and research. I have a 125 tank and i needed 2 evo 150 wat lights. Try looking at these sites. www.reefkoi.com www.aquatraders.com www.marinedepot.com www.aquaillumination.com. also you can build your own led light there are diy kits available too and hooked has done a few along with a few others on here Be leary of petco lights in my opinion I wouldnt have those on my reef tank

reefmaster719
11-20-2012, 02:29 PM
Go diy. The benefit to it is that if a led goes out then you can pop it off after slap a new one on because of the daisy chain technique. It's a simple process if your familar with soldering. Best bang for the buck.

reefmaster719
11-20-2012, 02:33 PM