PDA

View Full Version : I need help!!



Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 05:20 PM
Hi Guys! This is Bush's Wife...He left for training and of course on the day they all have to turn their cell phones in for training - the house freaks out on me. Right now my breaker keeps cutting off to everything that goes to the fish tank. I don't know what to unplug to keep it on. Can snyone tell me what is not really a necesity for the tank that I can just unplug?!? I have no idea what to unplug so that the lights and this tank will run. I'm freaking out right now. If my husband comes back and his tank is messed up he will kill me. HELP!!

notxes11
10-26-2012, 05:24 PM
Just linked your request from masc at the same time as you posted here! I'm working until 730am, hopefully someone steps up to help, but if not let me know. I will swing by first thing in the morning. Shoot me your number and I'll give you a call in the morning to get over there.

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 05:33 PM
okay so after playing with the plugs...apparenlty either the lights are on OR his power head/heater in the sump are on...can't be both...FML!!

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 05:38 PM
correction...nothing except his light in the frag tank is working...FML

Chadrw79
10-26-2012, 05:46 PM
Did you try unplugging everything, then plugging things in one by one? Maybe leave the lights unplugged until someone can get over there which will be fine even if its not until tomorrow afternoon.

Most important thing is to have the pumps and heaters running and everything will be fine for at least 24 hours. Hope you find some decently good news soon. Call me again I'd need be.

reefmaster719
10-26-2012, 06:11 PM
He does run dosers. Anyone think she can unplug those and be fine?

freedominco
10-26-2012, 06:24 PM
He does run dosers. Anyone think she can unplug those and be fine?

yes it would be ok to unplug for a couple of days, when I was there about a month ago he was telling me he was having a problem with a breaker then, something about a light causing it to trip.

sent from my HTC evo 4G

reefmaster719
10-26-2012, 06:43 PM
He has a frag tank also that might be tripping breakers since its right by his DT.

freedominco
10-26-2012, 06:48 PM
he was having this problem before the frag tank cause when I was there he had no frag tank and was having problems then.

sent from my HTC evo 4G

freedominco
10-26-2012, 06:50 PM
bush's wife call me I might be able to help u out

freedom
719 964 7036

sent from my HTC evo 4G

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 08:01 PM
Freedom, I'll call you in a bit - trying to feed my son and make something to eat.

grasshopa is coming by to check it out.

kmellon
10-26-2012, 08:53 PM
Way to go Adam. I'm just now getting home and reading the posts.

freedominco
10-26-2012, 08:58 PM
cool, just makin sure you had someone to come by and check it out for you.

sent from my HTC evo 4G

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 09:39 PM
Alright soooo Adam just left and he got everything working except the lights. Everything I plug the lights into flips the circuit so I'm going to try extension cords to different areas of the house. Ohh && Josh...you were right...the pump in the sump was totally fried :(

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 10:33 PM
undoubtedly the circuts hes pluging into are 14-2 20 amp if there is any way he can do new home runs I would pop in some 12-2 and do 30's dedicated to just the tank on REGULAR ---non arcfault POS a door can trip me breakers

Chadrw79
10-26-2012, 10:35 PM
Well happy to here you got most things back on, minus the lights. The pump might just be seized and needs to be taken apart and cleaned maybe in vinegar.

Not sure you want to come to Littleton but I have a 4' t5 setup you can use until Jonathon gets back or you fig something else out.

Sorry you have to deal with this while he is gone too. Give me a call if I can maybe help in any way

notxes11
10-26-2012, 10:36 PM
Glad to hear adam got it goin. Sorry to hear about the pump, but a good thing you caught it before it was too late for the corals. Let us know if you need anything.

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 10:36 PM
2-30 amp breakers and 12- wire should run all of his tank one for pumps and one for lights with gfi protection

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 10:42 PM
and if your plugging into other outlets in the house and the breaker trips the ballast is now bad and is a fire hazard leave it unplugged a good tip is bathrooms and kitchens have higher amperage circuts so if your house has a ton plugged in you shoud try and plug into those firsy im sure the great people here can help you get some light over those corals temporarily

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 11:02 PM
I think I'm going to have a heart attack...the breaker keeps tripping. it's like taunting me too...it will work for sometime and then turn off X[

reefmaster719
10-26-2012, 11:04 PM
Maybe someone has a home generator they can let you use? Really sucks to hear this.

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 11:04 PM
are the light or are the pumps tripping it?

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 11:05 PM
BigFoot --> your speaking a foreign language to me :(

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 11:06 PM
I'm assuming the pumps since we unplugged the lights

reefmaster719
10-26-2012, 11:07 PM
Maybe a bad pump? Drawing to much voltage.

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 11:09 PM
if the light are off and the breaker trips something is causing it to fault the only way to get it stable again is to start by un plugging all but water pumps reset the breaker ans plug things back in one at a time until you find the culprit i would check the heater

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 11:11 PM
and if it was all plugged into power strips id check those too

Coral Xpressions
10-26-2012, 11:16 PM
yeah everything is plugged into power strips. there are so many cables and wires running through the wall and every which way I have no idea what's what just trial and error plugging and unplugging things. I got it up and running again...hopefully it stays working and now i just have to figure out the lights :/

Bigfoot610
10-26-2012, 11:17 PM
the heater is in the sump more then likely and when they kick on they draw alot of wattage since it runs fine then trips might be when the heater is cycling on and off

Coral Xpressions
10-27-2012, 03:33 PM
OKAY. Soooooo I went and bought extension cords and plugged them into my upstairs area...I have almost everything working...I THINK. I know the reactor isn't but I can't find what the hell it's hooked up to and the same for the lights that are over the sump. The sump has cheeto like lots of it and I'm sure that needs light but is it like SSUUPPEERR important I have those lights running? I can't figure out what they are hooked up to, to save my life.

Chadrw79
10-27-2012, 09:00 PM
Oh good, glad to hear mostly everything is working now. Hopefully there is another generous, kind soul down there that can help you out while Jonathon is gone. I'm certain Jonathon would generously thank anyone that came to help. Sorry I am so far away or I would be there in a sec to help.

Bigfoot610
10-28-2012, 05:20 PM
just follow the cords as far as you can if theres a wall can you get a friend or neighbor to come jiggle and slide the wire back and forth so you can see what wire is moving on the oher side of the wall ?

chelleleal
11-03-2012, 05:15 PM
alot of the problem is the way they do electrical in colorado, ive learned that the hard way over a microwave, it fried out our tv and fridge. you need to find the least used circut in the house to run every thing off of until he gets back.

Bigfoot610
11-04-2012, 02:36 AM
naw depends on the county your in all counties in colorado use atleast 2005 code i wire houses :) what happens is hes got everything onto one maybe 2 circuts when in reality he needs two more and if hes in an older house like some of the old on post housing hes kinda hosed because it is from the 50's my guess is that chellealeal is in an older home as the tv wouldnt have been on that same circut microwave and fridge were on should have been on the kitchen recipticle circut and when i wire a house the fridge is always on its own circut

Coral Xpressions
11-04-2012, 03:15 PM
were actually in a brand new house - just built december 2011