PDA

View Full Version : Fresh air line??



codeman01
10-08-2012, 06:13 PM
I want to run a hose of some sort to the outside of the house to bring in fresh air and keep my water oxygenated, and hopefully keep my PH level more stable. Any ideas one where I should run the line to? I was thinking to the skimmer, but I don't know where. Also, how big of a line would I have to run to make this worth while?

freedominco
10-08-2012, 06:28 PM
I want to run a hose of some sort to the outside of the house to bring in fresh air and keep my water oxygenated, and hopefully keep my PH level more stable. Any ideas one where I should run the line to? I was thinking to the skimmer, but I don't know where. Also, how big of a line would I have to run to make this worth while?

idk know really, but my skimmer has an small hose that goes from the cup back down to the venturri so incase the cup overflows it just goes back into the skimmer. now if you want the instructions say you can split this line and use it to inject ozone into the skimmer, so maybe instead of ozone air could be added. maybe in your case you could just add some air stones to your sump to add oxygen ?

sent from my HTC evo 4G

Murfman
10-08-2012, 06:53 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1BH0CW0328&nm_mc=OTC-Froogle8&cm_mmc=OTC-Froogle8-_-HI+-+Bath+Fans+++Accessories-_-Panasonic-_-9SIA1BH0CW0328

http://www.electricbargainstores.com/product-p/fantech-aev1000.htm

DIY; http://makeprojects.com/Project/Heat+Exchanger/279/1#.UHN7gBXA8Uo

freedominco
10-08-2012, 07:16 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1BH0CW0328&nm_mc=OTC-Froogle8&cm_mmc=OTC-Froogle8-_-HI+-+Bath+Fans+++Accessories-_-Panasonic-_-9SIA1BH0CW0328

I guess this would work too but kinda high price way of doing it.

sent from my HTC evo 4G

codeman01
10-08-2012, 07:21 PM
idk know really, but my skimmer has an small hose that goes from the cup back down to the venturri so incase the cup overflows it just goes back into the skimmer. now if you want the instructions say you can split this line and use it to inject ozone into the skimmer, so maybe instead of ozone air could be added. maybe in your case you could just add some air stones to your sump to add oxygen ?

sent from my HTC evo 4G

the hose that goes from the cup to the venturri is the one that i am thinking of running through the wall to outside. this way the venturri would be sucking in fresh air from outside. i don't think air stones would help in my situation. I have plenty of water/surface movement, I am just trying to get fresh outdoor air into the system with cold days ahead and increased CO2 in the house due to everything being closed up.

codeman01
10-08-2012, 11:43 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1BH0CW0328&nm_mc=OTC-Froogle8&cm_mmc=OTC-Froogle8-_-HI+-+Bath+Fans+++Accessories-_-Panasonic-_-9SIA1BH0CW0328

http://www.electricbargainstores.com/product-p/fantech-aev1000.htm

DIY; http://makeprojects.com/Project/Heat+Exchanger/279/1#.UHN7gBXA8Uo

So are you recommending these because you don't think that running the intake hose for the skimmer outside will suffice? I'm just trying to get a better understanding for why I would use something like this apposed to my idea.

freedominco
10-09-2012, 07:19 AM
what skimmer do you have?? I am not sure simply running a air line to the skimmer is going to work, I know my skimmer needs a specific amount of air and water to work properly. Even the water level of the sump makes a difference in output. maybe adding a airline to the out put of the skimmer? idk if that would be any different then running some air to the sump. do you have your power heads pointed to the top of the tank to break up the surface?

codeman01
10-09-2012, 08:33 AM
what skimmer do you have?? I am not sure simply running a air line to the skimmer is going to work, I know my skimmer needs a specific amount of air and water to work properly. Even the water level of the sump makes a difference in output. maybe adding a airline to the out put of the skimmer? idk if that would be any different then running some air to the sump. do you have your power heads pointed to the top of the tank to break up the surface?

I'm not sure what brand, I just know it venturri "style". I bought it from reeflextion awhile back. It does sound like ours are very similar though the way you are describing yours. Maybe just to keep it simple I will run some air stones like you were recommending.

freedominco
10-09-2012, 08:38 AM
post a pic, i have a lifereef same as lance

Murfman
10-09-2012, 10:47 AM
When I had my reef Octopus, it had 3 pumps. I ran all 3 intake lines out the window for fresh air and the pH was still on the low side. Last winter, my pH got as low as 7.8 (which is in the normal range). I use a kalk reactor to keep the alk and pH up now.