PDA

View Full Version : Algae and other questions

drumland
09-20-2012, 11:35 AM
Hello
I am new to the saltwater gig....loving it so far.
I have a few questions.
1. I am setting up a 55 gallon tank currently. This past weekend I added live rock. Today I noticed that one of the rocks has a brown algae growing on it. It is only on the front of the rock. I do not have any livestock in the tank as I am currently trying to get the levels of ph and alk up.
Any suggestions on what I should do about the algae? Is it as simple as taking a tooth brush to it? Or is it like the red algae where I have to treat it?
2. I looked behind one of the rocks and saw something growing on it. Currently it is clear in color. About half an inch long with tentacles at the end of if. (I was going to try and post a picture but I guess I dont have access to do that.)
3. Lastly I do realize that learning everything I need to know about saltwater fish is going to be a constant for a while. Can you recommend a book or books or a place that could really help me become better educated about this saltwater bug that has bitten me?
Thank you for your time and knowledge!

sweat044
09-20-2012, 11:47 AM
What does the brown algae look like? Does it just rub right off? Or is it hair algae? It sounds like just your tank cycling. Do a water change. What kind of lighting are you running? If it is hair algae cut back the amount of time you are running your lights. What are you using for water movement? Do you have a sump?

drumland
09-20-2012, 11:55 AM
No sump yet just a hang on the back filter....I actually think it is hair algae. I have the T5 lighting system. I am using a power head that puts out 500gph.

sweat044
09-20-2012, 12:09 PM
Ok if it is hair algae. How long are you running your lights? Has your cycle completed yet?

drumland
09-20-2012, 12:16 PM
It's a new tank so I have been running them about 8 hours. No idea on the cycle...still trying to figure that out.

sweat044
09-20-2012, 12:19 PM