PDA

View Full Version : frogspawn not looking so good



jefe14
09-02-2012, 03:23 PM
got some frogspawn and it was nice and open and now its shriveled up not fully closed but doesnt look as good as before any suggestions ?

water is good 8.0 ph, 1.024, nitrates and nitrites-0, ammonia-0 i

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j101/bigconrad/file-1.jpg

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j101/bigconrad/file.jpg

Sputnik
09-05-2012, 09:06 PM
Phosphates?

Reefkoi
09-05-2012, 09:58 PM
The clown is probably trying to host it is my guess and thats why its closed.....

Reeflextion
09-06-2012, 06:02 PM
Have you change its postion and flow on it? I know that mine reacts differently under different levels of flow.

jefe14
09-07-2012, 04:59 PM
Yeah my clown was hosting it I just moved it to another area I hope it gets better I don't want to move it to much because I don't want to stress it out

Murfman
09-07-2012, 05:59 PM
One reason I don't have clowns ;-)

codeman01
09-08-2012, 11:26 AM
That's weird because my clowns both host mine and they are out full and huge. I know they don't like super bright light so I would tell you to move them down, but it is obvious they they are already on the sand bed. I would try to increase or decrease water flow, and also try to spot feed them by putting a piece of Tupperware over them and injecting some marine snow under the bowl to ensure that it is able to absorb it. Hope this helps!

Campbell
09-26-2012, 09:42 PM
Hey what kinds of flows do you guys keep your frogspawn under? I'm kind of having the same issue actually...

reefmaster719
09-26-2012, 09:45 PM
Mid flow. We need to know your parameters and placement as well. Any chemicals used?

codeman01
09-26-2012, 10:00 PM
Mine do best in lower light with low to medium flow, but they really like it if you can get them in an area where the flow moves them back and forth slowly. Also, I can always tell when my Ph drops because they look like your pic. I would slowly bring your Ph up to between 8.2-8.3.....that's assuming you didn't check your Ph with the lights off, and you waited about 4 hours with full light!? My clowns host mine as well and they stay wide open. Hope this helps

Coral Xpressions
09-26-2012, 10:40 PM
check your calc and alk. When I got my numbers up to where they needed to be mine exploded to life, even with my clown darting in and out of them. Anyone who has seen my lil hammer, frogspawn, anchor coral garden can tell you. I can tell the diff between the two tanks I had when one or the other got low params.

Coral Xpressions
09-26-2012, 10:41 PM
Also, I keep my ph at 8.3-8.4 and mine are in mid to low flow but in a location so when I dump phyto or marine snow it gets blasted right to them.

reefmaster719
09-26-2012, 10:54 PM
I target feed mine once a week with phyto. Alk and calc need to be good as well. +1--> bush