PDA

View Full Version : Poor man with a rich mans hobby

codeman01
08-06-2012, 01:10 AM
Hello everyone! So....not only would I consider myself novice to mediocre in the saltwater/reef category, I am an EXTREME novice when it comes to forums ( this is my first attempt). With that being said, please be willing to exhaust some patience with me as I am sure I will post in the wrong place (if I'm not already) or ask a dumb question at some or many points.

I have had saltwater tanks for many years off and on and am currently running a 55 gal reef/fish and also a 75 gal reef/fish. Oh yeah, and I can't forget my 10 gal FOWLR on my night stand with two false percs, and I just put a frag of my pulsing Xenia in there.

I just recently decided to "step up to the BIG leagues" and bought myself a 200 gal bow front. As of now it is just sitting in my garage being leak tested while I have my canopy custom built. I have a huge pond master return pump on order as I am gonna plumb everything to my basement. I have purchased four 33 gal tanks that will be used for all of my different steps of filtration. Now I have to find a huge protein skimmer that I can afford, some cheap base rock for filtration purposes, and then figure out the best way to plumb all of this. (no sweat right?)

Anyway, if any of you other reefers out there have any insight on the best way to approach this or know anyone that may have some of the things I still need for a good price, please let me know.

Thanks in advance for all of your help, and sorry if this was more long- winded that it should have been.

Git_r_done2x
08-06-2012, 06:06 AM