PDA

View Full Version : New to the saltwater world

Waitejk
07-11-2012, 11:00 AM
Hi everyone!! My name is Jamie and I am new to saltwater tanks. I have kept freshwater tanks in the past but have always wanted saltwater. I currently have a 55 gal empty tank. I have been spending the last several days getting all my supplies together before i get it assembled.

I am going to use live sand and live rock. I have a cannister filter coming by UPS (hopefully soon!!) and going to use a LED light strip. I'm going to let the tank cycle for about 3-4 weeks, depending on when the levels have evened out. I'm just too impatient to wait, but will wait as long as I need to.

As for fish......I don't really know yet what I'm going to put in the tank. I would like to have clownfish, gobies, and a yellow tang. I'm still in the researching phase though as to what will peacefully live together. I want to start out with more "hardy" fish while I get used to the maintenance and upkeep of the tank.

Any thoughts and ideas are highly welcomed!! I was also looking forward to attending a meeting in the future to meet some of you and to further my knowledge base.

Jamie

Git_r_done2x
07-11-2012, 11:16 AM
Welcome to the madness! Are you planning on getting into corals?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2

sweat044
07-11-2012, 11:18 AM
Welcome to the addiction. Hope your wallet is ready for this thing they call a hobby. Let me know if you need any help.

Waitejk
07-11-2012, 11:25 AM
Welcome to the madness! Are you planning on getting into corals?

I do plan on getting into corals at some point. I don't know ANYTHING about corals, yet. Once I get a good set up going with the fish only tank I will start looking into them.

Waitejk
07-11-2012, 11:27 AM
Welcome to the addiction. Hope your wallet is ready for this thing they call a hobby. Let me know if you need any help.

Thank you!! My wallet has already felt the blow of this "hobby". I'm thinking of call it my new job that I have to pay for! haha