PDA

View Full Version : 46 Gallon Bow Front Lighting for Corals

sweat044
09-28-2011, 11:04 AM
I am just doing easy soft corals. I don't wanna break the bank buying a major lighting system. I just need something that will keep my corals alive. Any suggestions?

jasonp87
09-28-2011, 11:10 AM
T5s should be sufficient. But I wouldn't take just my word for it. I'm just getting into corals myself.

PuD
09-28-2011, 12:10 PM
Even PCs can sustain softies. I'd still go for T5's at a minimum though. It'll allow you to expand you coral selection in the future and you can pick up T5 fixtures fairly easily nowadays. If I could get some of my other items sold, I would have a set of LEDs that I'd sell for a reasonable price. So, if you know anyone looking for a king bed, leather couch or studded snow tires... send them my way.

notchback5.0
09-28-2011, 02:09 PM
in my opinion you should start either looking into halides, or led's. Both of those options will allow you to grow with you changing wants. I have yet to meet anyone who starts with power compacts for coral and stays there and rarely for t5 only users. I went from floressents to power compact to halides with power compacts to halides with t5, and I now will be going led as soon as I get a chance to start putting the parts together. In my opinion, if you already know you want corals, get something that will support any corrals you may choose to do. You will waste a lot more money in the long run upgrading from one system to the next.

jasonp87
09-28-2011, 02:14 PM
I got my fixture with two 150w halides, 2 96w pcs and led moonlights for $150. Now I'm not restricted by my lights.

Git_r_done2x
09-28-2011, 02:26 PM
I have a dual 175w retrofit that I would let go for cheap. You will need to either put it in a canopy or build a box to house them so you can hang it. Also has a dual 65w pc ballast but only one plug for that. The ballast for the halides is included also.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

Murfman